do not fear the night…

I was paralysed by fear as I settled in the grass
by unidentifiable noises that I mostly hear at night.
Then I turned my head upward and before my very eyes
were a hundred millions stars lighting up the darkest sky.
The dogs sensed my fear,
paced lightly, licked my tears,
then turned as if to catch their tails
and settled by my side.
Afraid, so afraid of dark, inky nights
of strange, nightly noises, hell-bent on spreading fright- 
but with my loyal friends beside me and I gazing at the sky;
The stars said “go to sleep my child and do not
fear the night.”

(Photography; Elena del Palacio)

Leave a Reply

